Dear House

By Esther (14 years old)

Image credit: flickr

Dear House,

This is Esther, your owner and this is the first time that I am talking to you. Why?  Personally, I believe that talking to non-living things is impractical but I think it’s time to say a few words to you.  You are the same age as I am, fourteen. That’s the number of years that I have stayed in you and it’s still counting.

First of all, I would like to thank you for countless of things – providing me a roof to sleep under; sheltering me from the rain; storing food for me to eat and many other things.  I really appreciate you because if it weren’t for you, I would honestly be six feet under the ground now.

You, dear House, know everything our family has been through.  The happy, sad or exciting memories we have built, for example, camping in the backyard or cooking teppanyaki outside the house.  You have seen us children growing up, my parents aging and my elder brother going overseas to further his education.   Did you ever rejoice or commiserate with us on each occasion?  I guess you did.

I have grown very used to living in you, you know?  Staying elsewhere will make me feel unsettled.  I have memorised every single feature of you, from your layout to how the furniture are placed.  You are the only place in the world that gives me a sense of security that nothing can ever hurt or harm me.

House, I love you very much.  If someone offers me a prized mansion with a golf course and awesome facilities to replace you, I would turn it down. I would never choose any other houses over you, never ever. The quote, ‘Home is where the heart is’, is very true. I can relate to it.

Thank you for everything again, and I mean it sincerely.

Love,

Esther

About Katherine

Just a female who has time to do a bit of pondering and musing. Otherwise, I am on an interesting journey down the path to being a senior citizen.
This entry was posted in All Categories, Writing - Secondary School. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

