Dear House

By TC (13 years old)

image Credit: meebal.com

Dear House,

When my teacher asked me to write a letter to my house, I thought my ears were failing me but when she repeated the same instruction, I concluded she was insane.  I mean who writes to a house?  The very idea!  How droll.

Later, I put on my thinking cap and realised I had never talked to you before.  It’s about time, I think.  All my life, you have sheltered my family and I failed to appreciate it.  I began to seriously think what I would do without you.  Where would I live?  I am still working on the answer.

According to the dictionary, a house is a building for human habitation.  Personally, I believe you are more than that.  You are where my life begins and ends.  You are my sanctuary. It is definitely not just a place where I live.

Mom said we lived in another house before moving into you but I can’t remember a single thing about that house.  But you, dear house, will forever be etched in my memory with great fondness.  In my heart, you will always be the first.  You had seen me through my younger days, the petty cat-fights with my sisters, numerous crazy tantrums and wild mood swings.  I don’t know how you put up with me for I can’t even put up with myself.

To be honest, there were times when I feel sorry for you especially the uncountable times that I treated you so unkindly.  Like when I kicked your walls and slammed the doors because I was so mad at my sisters.  I know I had been beastly and abusive but I assure you, dear house, that loutish manner is in the past.  Now I know better and I am truly sorry but hey, you can’t change the past, so I solemnly promise I WILL treat you better from this day forth.

I have always wanted a big brother and only realised that I have one all along.  Do you know that you are that missing brother?  Those times when I cried, played pity parties and hated myself, you and your comfy couches had saved me by just being there for me.  You provided the shoulder I desperately needed to cry on.  I am so, so grateful and I love you so, so much.  So, a big THANK YOU, my beloved house.  May we continue to share good times and build many beautiful memories together.

Yours lovingly,

TC

About Katherine

Just a female who has time to do a bit of pondering and musing. Otherwise, I am on an interesting journey down the path to being a senior citizen.
This entry was posted in All Categories, Writing - Secondary School. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

