The Bully Got His Comeuppance

By Samantha (12 years old)

It was a glorious Sunday morning. A cool breeze was blowing and the birds were chirping. My friends and I were enjoying ourselves in the park, playing on the swings and slides.

I was playing with my best friend, Katie. We had known each other like forever and meeting at the playground was a daily event come rain or shine. Maybe not for our moms would never let us play in the rain. “You’ll get sick if you play in the rain!” both mothers would drill whenever we asked for permission. Even now, Katie and I could never understand how rainwater could cause us to become sick.

So there we were, shrieking with glee as we tried to outdo each other. Suddenly, a voice boomed, “Give me your pocket money!”

The voice startled me badly. The result was a very ungraceful landing on the ground, bruising my poor backside. I turned in the direction of the speaker. My eyes widened and my jaws dropped when I saw who it was.

It was Billy, the neighbourhood bully. He was notorious for extorting money from the smaller kids. Should we refuse, we would probably be looking at a few weeks of hospital stay.

Katie and I looked around wildly for our friends but they had vanished into thin air. It sometimes pained me to have such treacherous friends. This is one such occasion.

“Wimps, give me your money and don’t let me repeat myself!” Billy threatened, giving me his infamous death glare. I quickly dug into my pocket and produced a shiny chocolate coin.

“Chocolate coin?!” he bellowed. I nodded timidly.

“Ah well, I like chocolate,” he declared.

Without further ado, he peeled off the wrapping and popped the chocolate into his mouth.

I watched him crunch the chocolate and waited impatiently for the outcome. Catching Katie’s eye, I silently mouthed, “One, two, three!”

True enough, Billy clamped one hand over his mouth.  His other hand was waving wildly in the air and his tongue was hanging out like a dog’s. He was huffing and puffing as well.

“Water! Water! I need water!” he gasped in between his huffs and puffs.

Katie and I burst into fits of merry laughter. We had been itching to give Big Bad Billy his comeuppance. We had plotted for an entire week to deliver this sweet revenge. This should certainly teach BBB to never ever call us wimps again.

About Katherine

Just a female who has time to do a bit of pondering and musing. Otherwise, I am on an interesting journey down the path to being a senior citizen.
This entry was posted in All Categories, Writing - Secondary School. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

