If I were an animal, I would be …

By Gladys L. (15 years old)

 

Photo credit: amitkulkarni.info

 

If I were an animal, I would without doubt be an eagle.  Why, you ask.  The answer is simple – the eagle is admired the world over as living symbols of power, freedom, and transcendence.

God must have been in a good mood that day when he created the eagle.  He had certainly endowed the eagle with a majestic bearing, excellent eyesight, powerful soaring flight and as a predator of other animals.  What more could a bird ask for?

Let me tick off the benefits of being an eagle one by one.  First off, I would have lots of freedom.  I could go anywhere I wish by simply flapping those strong wings of mine.  With my keen vision, I could enjoy the best bird’s-eye view of the beautiful landscapes below.  Even at rest, I could easily observe what is happening on the ground as I perch on a tall tree or cliff.

Natural disasters such as floods, earthquakes or hurricanes cannot harm me as I could sense it before they happen and escape to a safer place.  However, should I have the misfortune to encounter those calamities, I could easily flee by soaring into the sky.

My only enemy as an eagle is the human race who hunts me for fun and brings my carcass home as a trophy.  Should a hunter manage to get his hands on me, I would take immense pleasure and satisfaction in scratching his eyes out with my sharp talons.  After blinding him, I would then take flight into the air for I fully intend to be the hunter, not the hunted.

The idea of being the predator greatly appeals.  I take pride being at the top of the food chain and making other smaller creatures flee whenever they clap their eyes on me.  I, of course would give them a little head start before swooping down for a kill.  O the thrill of the chase and the adrenaline rush!  An eagle’s life is truly exciting.  So yes, I would most certainly want to be an eagle if I were given the choice to become an animal.

 

Related essays:

About Katherine

Just a female who has time to do a bit of pondering and musing. Otherwise, I am on an interesting journey down the path to being a senior citizen.
This entry was posted in All Categories, Writing - Secondary School, Writing About Animals and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

