If I Were an Animal, I Would Be …

By San Ying (11 years old)

A lion in Namibia

A lion in Namibia (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

If I were an animal, I would be a lion. I would not be just any ordinary lion but I would choose to be the king of the jungle, subject to none but a law unto myself.

Being a lion king certainly has its benefits.  I would have many lionesses hunting prey to provide for the entire pride while I bask in the sun from sunrise to sunset. Occasionally, my many princes and princesses would sidle up for a cuddle or a kiss. After successfully hunting down a prey, the lionesses would bring the feast to the head of the clan which is me.  Now this is life.

As much as I would like to laze around all day,  I have a duty to perform.  The lion king you see, is responsible for ensuring his territory remains secure.  He would do everything in his power to protect his family and subjects as well as his turf from any unfriendly encroachment.

Trouble sporadically comes in the form of a hot-headed lion which is dim-witted enough to make an attempt to usurp the throne. I usually put the troublemaker to flight in short order with my superior strength and roar.

The 2-legged race is more of a bother.  Unscrupulous poachers have nothing better to do than to hunt me and mine down so that they could brag of their hunting skills and hang our heads as trophies on the walls in their homes.  Gross, don’t you think?

Fortunately, lion-lovers far outnumbered the crooks.  The humans and the other denizens of the jungle admire my splendid mane and deafening roar.  All in all, it is an enchanting life – one that I would enjoy until a ripe old age.

 

About Katherine

Just a female who has time to do a bit of pondering and musing. Otherwise, I am on an interesting journey down the path to being a senior citizen.
This entry was posted in All Categories, Primary School - Upper, Writing About Animals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

