Which character trait is the most important?

By S.S. (14 years old)

Image credit: spiritualjourneyguide.com

 

Everyone has good and bad personal character traits in them.  Some people are helpful while others wear selfishness like a cloak.  Having a good character in life is essential both for individual success and for our society to function successfully.  It makes people believe in us and look up to us. Personally, I deem kindness as the most important character trait to have.

Kindness is something everybody likes to be on the receiving end. People are always touched and moved by acts of kindness.  It gives us a reason to smile.

Giving someone something sincerely is a way of imparting kindness.  The receiver feels that he is being appreciated or someone really cares about him.  A gift or a card can help lift up a person’s spirits especially when the recipient is feeling down.

Kindness can also be shown by helping those who are in need.  Helping sick, old or disabled folks to clean their homes, buying a street person a meal or helping the blind to their destinations are three good examples.  We can also donate useful items and money to the needy through various charitable organisations.

Not everybody is perfect.  Some folks need to learn to be considerate and to care for others.  Acts of kindness are extremely simple and effective.  So, let’s spread some kindness around us today and make the world a better place for everybody.  Please join me in putting a smile on someone’s face every day.

 

End of day

by busymindthinking

At the end of each and every day
I snuggle with the setting sun
I reflect on the moments I have lived
wondering what I’ve done

I don’t ponder work accomplishments
in or outside my home
I consider the lives I’ve touched
and how my heart has grown

Did I choose to lift a spirit
Did I make another smile
these are the tools to measure
if my day was worth the while

If at day’s end I can remember
having touched another’s soul
I did everything I needed to
to love – within my control

 

About Katherine

Just a female who has time to do a bit of pondering and musing. Otherwise, I am on an interesting journey down the path to being a senior citizen.
This entry was posted in All Categories, Writing - Secondary School and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

