My Fears

By Jason N. (13 years old)

Image credit: unmotivateme.com

 

Kids normally fear ghosts, monsters or the dark but I suffer from acute acrophobia – the fear of heights.  This crazy fear has restrained me from participating in activities which seem exciting to thrill-seekers.

I wish I don’t have this fear because each time I look down from a building, I have a severe case of panic attack; my heart starts pounding, my body shakes like crazy, my lower limbs turn into jelly, I feel extremely giddy and begin to sweat like a pig.  The world only stops spinning after I move away from the window.  I am so afraid that I might just fall out even though the window is sealed tight.

It is not easy to make people understand about my fear.  My peers scoff at me and think I am chicken-hearted while adults simply chuckled at my irrational behaviour.  I don’t even want to know what the girls think.

I also fear to speak in public.  I was once appointed to give a presentation on stage.  I experienced my first bout of stage fright on that embarrassing day.  I felt there were hundreds of butterflies fluttering in my stomach.  Beads of perspiration rolled down my face while I kept wiping my clammy palms against my pants.  My heart thundered against my ribs and my teeth chattered.  My hands shook terribly and needless to say, I forgot my lines. That was probably the most humiliating day of my life.

Some say fear is a great teacher.  I for one am better off without fear as a teacher. I consider having irrational fears a great disadvantage in life.  It would be fantastic if I am neither an acrophobic nor a glossophobic.

About Katherine

Just a female who has time to do a bit of pondering and musing. Otherwise, I am on an interesting journey down the path to being a senior citizen.
This entry was posted in All Categories, Writing - Secondary School and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

