My Greatest Fear

By K. Jong (13 years old)

Photo credit: middleearthnj.wordpress.com

 

No matter how old or strong we are, we inevitably have to face our fears.  I am learning to face mine every day and I do have several fears such as the fear of failure, the fear of public speaking but my greatest enemy is the fear of negative criticsm.

Nobody likes being singled out for a harsh censure especially in public.  When I don’t do well in my exams, unjustified faultfinding from my parents and teachers greatly depresses me.  When I am being criticised, I become diffident.  Personally, I already feel upset for not meeting my own expectations and when somebody else relentlessly hammered my failure into me, I hate it.

I recognise that my fear of unhelpful criticism is mostly due to the lack of self-confidence.  Any kind of failure makes me less sure of myself and being under constant fire of damaging feedback is no fun at all.  When a guy already feels down, he doesn’t need anyone else to make him feel worse.

Destructive criticsm is something that I could never get used to but I am learning how to deal with it.  I try not to let harmful remarks hurt or damage my self-esteem but it is undeniably an uphill task.  I foresee a lot of hard work ahead but I am going to remind myself daily, “Kenneth, you can do it!”

 

About Katherine

Just a female who has time to do a bit of pondering and musing. Otherwise, I am on an interesting journey down the path to being a senior citizen.
This entry was posted in All Categories, Writing - Secondary School and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

