A Nightmare

In collaboration with Samantha W. (11 years old)

Image credit: werewolf-movies.com

 

The moon was just beginning to rise when I heard a soft growl beside me.  I turned to look at  my tent mate, Sharon and gawked in horror at the sight. Hair was appearing on her face and limbs. Her fingernails and toenails were lengthening quickly into sharp claws.  Still lucid, she cried out in agony, “Go!”  Without a moment’s hesitation, I scrambled to my feet and took off like a bullet through the opening of the tent.

“Sharon is a female werewolf!” I gasped aloud. My mind was alive with questions, “How could I have not known?  She’s my best friend and now she wants my blood!”

The rough terrain in the jungle was not helping my escape.  It seemed that the branches were reaching out for me and the ground was trying to swallow me up. Strange shadows lurked behind the tall trees.  I had already lost my left shoe and the right one was about to come off.  Luckily, the full moon provided sufficient light to aid my flight.

To boost my flailing courage, I began to chant furiously, “I am not afraid.  I can make it out alive.  I am not afraid. I can make …” A loud howl ripped through the forest, bringing my mantra chanting and tired feet to an abrupt halt.  Just then, a tree came alive and walked towards me.  Perfect! I hardly need another monster ganging up with the female werewolf.

I instantly bolted like a rabbit, a very frightened rabbit.   Where was Daddy when I needed him most?  It was not until I saw my house in the distance that I realised that I was running in that direction.  I let out a sigh of relief but I had rejoiced too soon.  The tree monster reached out with a branch and seized my leg.

Mustering all my strength, I battled with the tenacious grappling branch to free myself. I pulled at the leaves and amazingly, the tree exploded into golden powder.  Greatly shocked, I froze on the spot but regained my composure in a hurry when I remembered a werewolf was still on the loose.

Thankfully, my house stood just a few yards away.  “Home free!” I declared triumphantly as I reached for the door knob. The werewolf however, chose to strike at that precise moment.  She sprang out of nowhere and pounced on me.  Terrified, I gazed wildly into her hungry eyes and fainted right away.

When I next opened my eyes, I was lying on the floor tangled in my blanket and my pyjamas was drenched in sweat.  It was just a nightmare after all.  Phew!  What a relief!

About Katherine

Just a female who has time to do a bit of pondering and musing. Otherwise, I am on an interesting journey down the path to being a senior citizen.
This entry was posted in All Categories, Primary School - Upper and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

