If you were given three wishes, what would you wish for?

By HB  (16  years old)

Image Credit: stitchfashion.com

I used to wonder about this question when I was in primary school. If someone asked me this question then, I would have simply replied, “I want to be a billionaire!”  It took me a long time to think carefully about it now. I do not want to make wishes that are entirely self-centred. Instead, I would like to use the wishes to also benefit other people.

My first wish is to possess unlimited wealth, not just for my own sake but also for the well-being of others. I would like to give some money to my parents who are spending a lot of money on me to support my education here in Malaysia. I would also be in the position to donate to the poor. There are more than 3 billion people in the world living on less than US 2.50 dollar a day. Should I possess unlimited wealth, I would certainly do my best to eradicate poverty.

My second wish is to become omniscient so that I could find solutions to cure cancers, AIDS and other diseases. Moreover, I could invent machines that improve the quality of human life.  I might even find a way to stamp out pollution.

My final wish is that the world is war free. It would be wonderful if countries exist in peace and harmony with one another. Wars are always tragic. They cause countless innocent casualties; civilians are shot dead; buildings are flattened by bombs; desolation and devastation engulfs the entire country especially where fighting is concentrated. I could not bear to hear of such mindless obliteration.

The tension between South and North Korea makes all South Koreans uneasy. They fear the two countries might actually go to war one day. Most of my relatives live in South Korea. Each of them is close and special to me. I would grieve deeply should any of them is slain by stray bullets.

I fervently hope these three wishes would come true someday soon so that the world would be a better place.

About Katherine

Just a female who has time to do a bit of pondering and musing. Otherwise, I am on an interesting journey down the path to being a senior citizen.
This entry was posted in All Categories, Writing - Secondary School and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

