My Dog

By CT

Photo credit: puppydogweb.com

 

At first glance, it seemed that there was nothing out of the ordinary with Woody.  He had cute big round eyes, a small black nose and white fur with black splotches all over his body.  Oh, he also had the most adorable smile.

I could still remember clearly the day Woody and I met.  Father gave him to me as a reward for doing well in my studies.  From the moment I laid eyes on him, I knew that the two of us will be BFF – Best Friends Forever.

We did everything together; we ate together, bathed together, played together, slept together and even pooped together.  We were inseparable.

Unfortunately, the good days didn’t last.  7th February 2003 – that was the bleakest day of my life.  It was the day Woody was murdered.  For days I was inconsolable.  I cried and raged against the injustice of it all.  Why was my best friend murdered when he had never caused harm to anyone?

In fact, Woody was afraid of almost everything.  He was afraid of the thunder, loud noises, my mother, the neighbour’s dog and he was even terrified of lizards.  Each time he was frightened, he would snuggle up to me for protection.  While he may not be a good guard dog, he was my bestest friend.

A month after his death, I was lying in my bed thinking about Woody when I heard a familiar yelp.  At first, I dismissed it simply as a figment of my grief but when the yelps persisted, I got out of bed only to see Woody at my bedroom door.  I was overjoyed to see Woody again until the fact that I buried him in the backyard three weeks and six days ago hit my mind.

I cautiously tried touching him and he licked my fingers.  My doubts and fears vanished as I gathered him in my arms and rushed down the stairs to show Mother that Woody was alive.  However, things didn’t quite go as planned because Mum couldn’t see Woody.  Apparently, I was the only person who could see and touch him.

Ten years have since passed.  Woody and I still do everything together.  This has caused some people to think of me as crazy.  I’m glad to have Woody as my best friend because he will have my back forever and ever.

 

About Katherine

Just a female who has time to do a bit of pondering and musing. Otherwise, I am on an interesting journey down the path to being a senior citizen.
This entry was posted in All Categories, Writing About Animals, Writing from the Adults and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

