Chinese New Year

By Anderson C. (9 years old)

 

Chinese all over the world celebrate Chinese New Year since a long time ago.  The preparations usually begin a month or so before the festival.  In Chinese homes, women-folks bake cakes and biscuits while every member in the family helps in the spring cleaning to make the house spick and span.

Shops and supermarkets sell all kinds of Chinese decorations, fireworks, delicacies like peanuts, dried fruits and mouth-watering confectioneries.  My mother always brings my brother and me to the shops to buy new clothings as we are expected to put on new clothes on the first and second day of the Chinese New Year.

I always invite my friends and relatives to my house during the auspicious Lunar New Year.  My elders give me “angpaus” while I serve them drinks, food and of course my mother’s cheese cake.  As a matter of fact, Mom bakes the best cheese cake in Malaysia.

Chinese New Year is certainly the best time of the year for me.  Not only do I get a break from school, I also become richer by a few hundred ringgit within a couple of days.  Fast bucks, won’t you agree?

About Katherine

Just a female who has time to do a bit of pondering and musing. Otherwise, I am on an interesting journey down the path to being a senior citizen.
This entry was posted in All Categories, Primary School - Lower and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

