Count Your Blessings

By HB (15 years old)

Photo credit: wye.co.uk

 

Most people take their blessings lightly.  They only think about the problems they are facing and take what they have for granted. Undeniably, our human nature makes us focus on what we lack and not appreciate what we have.

My friends frequently complain how hard they have to study each day especially during exams. Whenever they mention they have to stay up very late at night to prepare for their exams, I feel like snapping, “Hey man, I slept at three o’clock this morning too.”  But that would certainly make me a dynamic member of their “Complaining Club”.

Many students consider studying as a boring and tiresome thing to do. However, think about the people who live in the poorest part of Africa or India. They have to forage for food in some unlikely places just to survive daily. Countless Africans are severely malnourished through prolonged famines and civil wars. Many had indeed perished due to starvation. Yet here we are, complaining about how much homework or revisions we have to do.  We ought to consider it a blessing that we can go to school no matter how much work we have to do.

Although I am constantly reminded that I should adopt a thankful attitude, I find it exceptionally difficult to remain thankful sometimes. People say whenever we wake up in the morning, we should be thankful that we are still alive, but I do not feel that way occasionally. Some mornings I have to struggle to pry open my sleepy eyes to prepare for school.

I was ashamed of myself when I heard about the ‘root man’. Dede suffered from a mysterious disease in which warty ‘roots’ began growing out of his arms and feet after he cut his knee in a teenage accident.  Despite being sacked from his job and deserted by his wife, Dede has been raising his two children in poverty. Without any doubt, our lives are far better off than his dreadful life.  Therefore, I am counting my blessings beginning this very minute!

About Katherine

Just a female who has time to do a bit of pondering and musing. Otherwise, I am on an interesting journey down the path to being a senior citizen.
This entry was posted in All Categories, Primary School - Upper and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

