A Road Accident

By S.S. (13 years old)

Photo credit: mshp.dps.mo.gov

 

“Ring…”  The school bell finally rang.  I stuffed my books into my bag and quickly ran down three flights of stairs.  As usual, I walked home with my two buddies.  My stomach was growling loudly and I was looking forward to having a hearty lunch.

Like me, everyone else seemed to be in a hurry to reach home.  Pedestrians walked briskly along the pavements while vehicles sped by on the busy street with horns blaring, contributing to the noise pollution.

Suddenly, there was a very loud bang. It startled me so greatly that I actually jumped up. I looked for the source of the bang and saw the most horrifying thing that I have ever seen.

20 metres ahead, a badly damaged car lay in the direct path of a bus.  The motorist was trying to overtake a van when it crashed into the oncoming bus.  The car driver was seriously injured.  He sustained injuries on his head and face.  His nose was bleeding and there were cuts and scratches on his swollen face. Fortunately, the bus driver and the passengers escaped unscathed but for some scratches.

A crowd of passers-by soon gathered at the scene.  They helped the injured man into a Good Samaritan’s car who whisked him off to the nearby hospital.  By then, the police had arrived and they remained to clear the massive traffic congestion.  The wrecked car was removed from the middle of the road and towed to the police station.

I continued on my way home and related the incident to my parents when I saw them.  The accident taught me that safety is very important in our daily life.  No matter what we are doing, we must put safety first to avoid harming ourselves and others around us.

About Katherine

Just a female who has time to do a bit of pondering and musing. Otherwise, I am on an interesting journey down the path to being a senior citizen.
This entry was posted in All Categories, Writing - Secondary School. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

