A Newborn Brother

By Gladys (13 years old)

 

The news that my mother had just disclosed stunned me. For a while, all that I could do was to look at her with my mouth agape. Once the import of her news sank in, I could hardly contain my joy. I let out a triumphant shout and bounced on my soft mattress, punching my fist in the air with much glee.

Knowing that I was going to have a young sibling to play with in about seven months’ time thrilled me tremendously.  I began to plan ahead.  “I could teach him lots of things especially Maths!” I thought eagerly.  I was over the moon because the dream of having a younger sibling was finally coming true at long last.

Counting the days when my little sibling would be joining me in this world became my main preoccupation.  On the other hand, I gladly took over some of the household duties for my expectant mother. Although the tasks were burdensome, the mere thought of having a newborn baby joining our little family made the dreary chores less onerous.

The months flew by quickly.  Mother’s labour pains started right after dinner.  The big day had come – finally!  Father whisked Mother into his car and drove to the hospital, breaking the speed limit on the way.  Mother was wheeled into the delivery as soon as she arrived at the hospital while Father paced up and down in the hallway, muttering under his breath and moping his forehead now and then with his damp handkerchief.  You would have thought that having already experienced the birthing of his firstborn, Father would be as calm as a cat.  Instead he was like a cat on a hot tin roof.

I was slightly nervous but exuberant because I was going to be a big sister!  Several hours later, a nurse came out with a baby in her arms.  It was my baby brother!  He looked so tiny and adorable.  I was head over heels for the first time in my life!  At that very moment, I pledged my undying love to him and vowed to be the best sister in the whole wide world to my new baby brother.

About Katherine

Just a female who has time to do a bit of pondering and musing. Otherwise, I am on an interesting journey down the path to being a senior citizen.
This entry was posted in All Categories, Writing - Secondary School. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

