My Favourite Animal

By Gladys L. (13 years old)

 

My favourite animal is a dog.  I have liked dogs since I was a little girl.  Imagine my delight when my parents presented me with a cute puppy on my 10th birthday.  It had white fur and a pair of beautiful eyes which made it look very adorable.  It was extremely friendly as it kept wagging its little tail enthusiastically.  I named it Doggy and fell in love with my little doggy right then and there.

As expected, Doggy turned out to be the most affectionate of pets.  It would sit with its tail thumping on the floor, and look at me with eyes filled with adoration.  How could I not love him?

When puppies grow into dogs, they are no longer as cute but they are totally reliable friends to humans. The saying, “A dog is a man’s best friend” is so true because dogs remain faithful and loyal to their owners up to the day they die.

Dogs are intelligent and useful animals. They help us guard our house.  When strangers approach our homes, they bark loudly to keep them at bay. Some dogs are trained to look for victims trapped under rubble after a natural disaster or to track hikers lost in the jungle.  Police dogs can sniff out drugs or explosives.  They are also able to locate suspects or escaped convicts.  I was surprised to learn that when a police dog is killed in the line of duty, it is given a full police funeral!

Many blind individuals are relying on dogs for daily assistance. Not only do dogs act as seeing eyes for their visually impaired masters, they also provide constant companionship.  These guide dogs, usually German Shepherds, are taught to disobey their owners when the situation calls for it. The main reason is to protect them from dangers that they are not aware of.

There are times when our family members, relatives and friends turned their backs on us and vice versa.  Very often, we would find it difficult to trust another human being after experiencing a betrayal of trust.  Man can and should take a page from dogs as the virtue of steadfastness goes a long way in nurturing any kind of relationships.

So what are you waiting for?  Get a dog today!

About Katherine

Just a female who has time to do a bit of pondering and musing. Otherwise, I am on an interesting journey down the path to being a senior citizen.
This entry was posted in All Categories, Writing - Secondary School, Writing About Animals and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Favourite Animal

  1. savingzeus says:

    I really enjoyed your post and I would have to say that I completely agree with you. Dogs are one of a kind and only offer love, kindness, and compassion for their loved ones. I also think that your photo is absolutely adorable!

  2. Niken says:

    That’s a very nice i too like your story very much and it will be a very fun having a dog as a pet

  3. VERY GOOD 2bitsworthofthoughts.wordpress

  4. Nina says:

    Dog on picture is soo cute. And, of corse, very good essay.

  5. Afreen says:

    It’s a cute little dog

Leave a Reply

