The Happiest Day of My Life

In this exercise, the student is required to use as many synonyms for ‘happy’ as possible.

The Happiest Day of My Life

By S. Shan (13 years old)

Image

 

The warm rays of the sun streamed into my room through the window.  “What a beautiful morning!  And it’s only going to get better,” I stretched lazily as happy thoughts filled my mind. I sprang up from my bed and went into the bathroom for a quick shower. After freshening up, I headed downstairs to the kitchen for breakfast.

My favourite idol, Justin Bieber was in Malaysia and performing live at the Merdeka Stadium.  My friends and I were fortunate to have the tickets.  The day crawled by like a snail. I couldn’t wait for evening to roll round so at 3 p.m., I changed into a pair of shorts, my purple “i love jb’ top and my red shoes.  When my friend Susanie arrived at my house, my mother drove us to the arena.

We were filled with exuberance and were as happy as two larks, gaily singing Justin Bieber’s songs in the car.  When Mum dropped us off at the arena, we made a beeline for the main entrance. The seats were more than half-filled with thousands of Justin’s fans, mostly teenagers. Our seats were in the front row, directly facing the centre stage.  We had paid a substantial sum for the seats but hey, it was Justin Bieber we were about to meet!  And that was a chance of a lifetime!

As the emcee announced Justin’s first song, “One Less Lonely Girl”, the crowd went wild and loud screams erupted throughout the stadium, “Bieber!  Bieber!  Bieber!”  I readily joined in with everyone else and gleefully screamed myself silly.

The audience hushed as Justin stepped onto the stage.  As he sang, he came down the steps and reached out to invite me to go on stage with him.  I went floating onto the stage with him.  My heart was pounding so hard that it felt like it was about to jump out of my chest.  How did I get so lucky?

Justin led me to a stool and presented me with a bouquet of the loveliest red roses.  While he crooned, he looked deeply into my eyes.  “Oh, I am in love!  Head over heels in love!  This is so romantic!  I wish this will never end,” I thought dreamily.  When the song ended, Justin gave me a hug and a peck on my cheek.  I almost swooned in ecstasy!

“I am not going to shower for a month!” I immediately declared to Susanie as I joined her.  She was green with envy while I happily vowed that the electrifying experience would be forever etched in my “Bank of Good Memories”.

About Katherine

Just a female who has time to do a bit of pondering and musing. Otherwise, I am on an interesting journey down the path to being a senior citizen.
This entry was posted in All Categories, Writing - Secondary School. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

