If I Were a Rich Man – 5

By JY (14 years old)

Image

 

If you had all the money that a rich man has, what would you do?  Would you buy a new sports car or would you donate your wealth to the poor?

As for me, if I had all the money that a rich man has, I would tithe.  I would erect a building for my church if it does not own a building yet.  I would also make a contribution of one fourth of my money to worthy charitable organisations.

Some of the world’s neediest people live in poor countries and they are in the danger of dying from hunger. Hunger and malnutrition are in fact the number one risk to human health worldwide; greater than AIDS, malaria and tuberculosis combined. The Starvation Net reported that in the last 50 years, almost 400 million people in the world had died from hunger and poor sanitation.  That is three times the number of people killed in all wars fought in the entire 20th century.  Since young, I have felt very strongly that hunger should be eradicated.  So if I were a rich man, I would endeavour to give hope to the hard-core poor by donating a huge sum of money to set up a food programme for them.

Next, I would invest in real estate and buy houses, buildings and land to further increase my riches.  I would also like to build my own dream home and a world-class hotel where first class service is a norm rather than an exception.

So dear God, won’t you please, please rain down some money from heaven today?

About Katherine

Just a female who has time to do a bit of pondering and musing. Otherwise, I am on an interesting journey down the path to being a senior citizen.
This entry was posted in All Categories, Writing - Secondary School and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

