Home Alone

By J.Young (16 years old)

“Mom?” my shout echoed through the hallway of our apartment.  There was no response.  I tried to contact my mother on her mobile phone several times, but she did not answer the calls.  Uneasiness swooped down like a wet blanket on me as I did not like to be left alone at home.

ImageI plumped down moodily on the sofa with my arms wrapped around my legs.  However, it did not calm my nerves.  An imaginary black silhouette kept flitting before my eyes and the ticking of the clock sounded as loud as thunder.  My heart was pounding so fast that it seemed like it was about to explode.  With the thought of ghosts uppermost in my mind, I shivered as a cold chill ran down my spine.

Just then, the doorbell rang and immediately, my gloom turned into eagerness.  I was confident it was my mother at the door since nobody else would drop by our house in the evenings.  Reaching the door, I flung it wide open.  But alas, it was not Mother!  Instead, a total stranger stood there.  He was a tall, burly man with a bushy beard.  His hair was long and unkempt.  Clad in a pair of faded jeans and a long-sleeved black T-shirt with a picture of a skull, he looked utterly sinister.

Quick as lightning, he reached out to grab my throat and tried to choke me.  I clawed at his face to escape from him.  As he struggled to subdue me, I jammed my fingernails deep into his eye sockets.  As soon as he let go of his deathlike grip, I started screaming for help.

The fiend instantly clapped his hand over my mouth to silence me.  I wriggled to break free and having managed to do so, I darted out of his reach, shrieking shrilly like a banshee. Nimble on his feet and way stronger than me, he caught me within seconds.  “Why is he doing this?  Is he attempting to abduct me for a ransom?”  I guessed wildly while writhing and thrashing to get away from him.  In a last-ditch effort, I shoved him and made a dash through the corridor of my apartment block while yelling for help at the top of my voice.

“You are not going anywhere!” the brute thundered furiously.  As he caught up with me, he took me by my shoulders and shook me so vigorously that I was beginning to see stars.  “Where is help when I need it?” I dizzily wondered.  All of a sudden, the shaking stopped and I fell onto the floor like a limp dishrag.  Barely conscious, I turned to see the crazed villain lying on the ground, battered and out cold.  And there was my next door neighbor, Mr. Lim hovering anxiously over me.  “Are you alright, John?” he asked. He had heard my frenzied screams and decided to investigate the cause of the racket.  Seeing that  I was being attacked, he hastily grabbed the bat he kept for self-defense and brought it down hard on my attacker’s head.

ImageMr. Lim called the police on his mobile phone to report the freaky assault.  Soon, the police arrived and apprehended the brutish assailant.  At that moment, my parents appeared and were taken aback at the scene.  After having heard the horrifying tale from Mr. Lim, Mother vowed never to leave me alone at home again. Thankful to be none the worse for wear despite the frightful experience, I thanked Mr. Lim copiously for coming to my rescue.

About Katherine

Just a female who has time to do a bit of pondering and musing. Otherwise, I am on an interesting journey down the path to being a senior citizen.
This entry was posted in All Categories, Writing - Secondary School and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

