What kind of neighbourhood would you prefer to live in? Why?

By JY (14 years old)

Image

Photo courtesy of public-domain-photos.com

 

Given a choice, I would definitely prefer to live in a rich neighborhood where neighbours are friendly, well-mannered, warm and big-hearted.

The rich are party animals and I love to party. Movies often show wealthy people throwing lavish parties.  Whenever I watched such a show, I felt envious and wished I could join the parties and party away the night.

Living among the well-to-do would enable me to associate with the well-heeled crowd.  I would develop a good network of rich, useful business contacts and friends who will be able to help me in future business undertakings. Successful people hang around other successful people.  It’s easier to find those people in a rich neighborhood.

In my ideal living environment, the community is friendly, warm and big-hearted.  Neighbours greet one another and are willing to lend a helping hand anytime it is needed.  When I was living in an apartment in Seoul, we had a neighbour who lived on the floor right below us.  She considered us as her noise pollution and frequently complained that we were making too much noise by running in our apartment.  She was a big gossip too, talking to other people about us behind our backs.

This bad experience of having a quarrelsome neighbour made me very determined to live in a neighbourhood that is big-hearted enough to embrace petty issues.  A place where kindness and tolerance are the order of day will suit me just fine!

About Katherine

Just a female who has time to do a bit of pondering and musing. Otherwise, I am on an interesting journey down the path to being a senior citizen.
This entry was posted in All Categories, Writing - Secondary School and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

