Fishing

By Abel N. (8 years old)

It was a beautiful, sunny day yesterday.  The weather was just perfect for fishing and that was what we did.  We brought along our fishing rods, baits and a big bucket to hold our catch.

There were a few families already fishing at the pond when we arrived. A little boy squealed with delight when he reeled in a fish.  I looked at him enviously and could not wait to get my line in the water.

After hooking a wriggling earthworm, I cast the line into the water and settled down to wait patiently for a fish to bite.  Very soon, my line was jerked tight.  Filled with both exhilaration and anticipation, I quickly reeled in the line.  To my disappointment, it was only a small fry.

Recasting the line, I idly observed the other anglers.  Some of the adults had caught some big fish.  A loud cheer rang out when a tall man snagged a 10-pounder.  In the end, I only managed to catch three small fries.  It did not matter whether I caught a big or a small fish because I had enjoyed myself tremendously.  I could not wait to go fishing again.  Just like a pianist who needs much practice to perfect her scales so does an angler if he wants to snag a 30-pounder!

 

Some very proud anglers with their fine catch.

Photos of this rare sea creature, which was released after being caught, are courtesy of Mark Quartiano

Photos of this rare sea creature, which was released after being caught, are courtesy of Mark Quartiano

 

opah

Armando Castillo, Joe Ludlow and Travis Savala (left to right) pose with rare opah catches; photo via Excel Sportfishing

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Watch Caillou Went Fishing.

About Katherine

Just a female who has time to do a bit of pondering and musing. Otherwise, I am on an interesting journey down the path to being a senior citizen.
This entry was posted in All Categories, Primary School - Lower, Writing About Animals and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

